Transitoire

By Transitoire

Inventive: New Year's Eve/Hogmanay

Whatever happened over this past year, be thankful for where it brought you. Where you are is where you're meant to be!

Wow, what a busy day! And also 100th consecutive Blip...here's to many more milestones (and no, I wish I had planned my 100th blip to be exactly at the end of the year but I really didn't!).

Managed to meet up with Tom for a final time before we both head back to different countries (France and, well, Wales...it works!) We again managed to stay in Caffè Nero until closing time (standard)...it was lovely to see him, and really nice to see him more than once over Christmas. More of the same, lots of chats, lots of talking about life, lots of giggles.

So my evening was amazing, one of the best New Year's I have ever had. The amount of people, the amount of alcohol, the games. Just fabulous. So everyone at the party is in this photograph...probably not one of the best I have ever taken, but it does sum up the evening...the age range is from 15-54, not bad I would say! So we spent the time before 12am (and some time after) playing 'Spot the Intro'. In brief, you make teams and work your way round a board by rolling a dice and answering pop related questions, and if you land on particular squares you get an intro round from the handy CD. An absolutely addictive game, although my team were not particularly lucky with our questions...KLF (I still have no idea who they are to be completely honest!), answers about chart music beginning with X, answers about chart music beginning with Y - how unlucky can you be?! Needless to say, we didn't win...although when I swapped teams my new team and I managed to win! I definitely wasn't really that much help...my knowledge of music and music trivia is awful.

NB: favourite moment of intros game...Hannah attempting to remember the name of the song "Killing Me Softly" while listening to the intro before screaming out in front of ten other rather surprised people "Rubbing Me Softly!!!". This was preceded by the youngest of our number, poor Greg, being teased mercilessly for thinking Diana Ross was the full name of Princess Diana...and of course, Diana Ross questions and intros kept coming up in the game too! Another highlight might possibly be Foster trying to guess which "famous" person he was (Charles Manson)...oh. dear.

At New Year, champagne was quaffed, Auld Lang Syne was sung (even more raucously than usual with the addition of some Scots!), and then we all decided it was too cold to go outside to see fireworks and going back to the party was a much better idea! As this is now technically tomorrow, I shall continue the story then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.