BRIANW

By BRIANW

First Footing In The Summer, Aylesford

First footing” (or the “first foot” in the house after midnight) is still common across Scotland. To ensure good luck for the house the first foot should be a dark male, and he should bring with him symbolic pieces of coal, shortbread, salt, black bun and a wee dram of whisky. 
The "First Footing" is a tradition celebrated on Hogmanay, a Scottish New Year's celebration. It is supposed to bring luck and prosperity to the household for the new year. It is a ritual involving the first person to step into a household from the outside in a new year.
This is something I remember so strongly as a child that my late Mum did every year. For some reason my brother and I both taking a first step forward at our village bus stop reminded me of this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.