Spirits

The canal spirits have joined us, swaying alongside between the clouds and the silt, thinner than water and thicker than dreams. Today they stole most of the hours, as they do.

I know, only from the map, that we chugged back along the Shropshire Union and I know, only from the notes I make about my teaching, that we spent the morning exploring all sorts of things to do with weather and the afternoon working out the difference in sound and muscle between F and TH. I also know, from experience, that now the spirits have joined us they will stay with us for the rest of the trip, playing tricks with memory and time and distance.

At some point they bade me pick up my phone and take a photo. I don't know why they wanted the top of the pylon cut off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.