Keith on a hot Tin Roof

At sometime in the past there has been a leak into this corner of the house. We aren't sure exactly when because this interior corner is hidden away at the back of Jan's closet and by the time we noticed the signs of a leak it was totally dry again.
In our climate an ice dam can form at the edge of the roof in winter, with a pool of meltwater behind it. That water can sneak through the tiniest hole so if the metal roof isn't underlaid with a waterproof membrane you end up with a "mysterious" leak.
Today I removed two sections of metal roofing, and found (as expected) that there was no tarred paper in place, far less a waterproof membrane.
So, I spent the rest of the day removing most of the old nails sticking out from the boards. I also checked under the roofing boards to see how much insulation was in place. Mostly it was OK but in one place there was none at all.
As I was working I opened up a wasp's nest in the roof space. Fortunately the wasps were confused by the sudden arrival of daylight rather than annoyed at my intrusion. I was a bit concerned to be up on the roof with a lot of confused wasps but they ignored me even when I was close by, so in the end I ignored them and worked on.
I'm hoping to be finished by tomorrow evening because there's a little rain forecast for Sunday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.