A Hawk-moth???

This massive moth has been on my fence panel all day. My friend thinks it might be a Privet Hawk-moth and I think she might be right. If it is, it's the largest resident hawk-moth in the UK with a wingspan of 9-12 cm (3.5-4.75 inches). Now I'm not good with moths at the best of times, so wasn't going to get close enough to measure it. I did measure a fence slat though which is 3 inches, so that gives you a good indication of how big it is. I read that freshly emerged adult Privet Hawk-moths can sometimes be found resting vertically (e.g. on tree trunks and fence posts), so maybe that was the case here. 

This afternoon I walked into town for the first Holt Street Feast, part of the Holt Festival. There were lots of stalls with street food and farmers market stalls. It looked to be very popular and reminded me of the street parties held in 1977 for the Queen's Silver Jubilee. I've added a photo to Extra which I've tried to give a 1970s feel in editing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.