Desert Island Discs Challenge

During full lockdown I took part in a daily challenge on What's App with the three friends I used to walk with in MK. It was great to 'chat' every day and have a task to achieve and it helped keep me sane and not feel so isolated. We took a break from challenges for a while after 26 days (a challenge for each letter of the alphabet), then I suggested we do the desert island disc challenge. As you probably know, this means choosing the 8 'discs' you'd like to keep you company if you were abandoned on a desert island, a book to take with you and a luxury item, and finally the one song you'd save from the waves. The songs represent times / events / people in your life in time order to tell the story of your life, rather than a playlist of your favourite songs, so we explained the reasoning too (you'd never guess the reason for my choices apart from one). I suggested we took one choice a day in rotation, so it took us 45 days in total (I forgot to post one day in the excitement of having my first haircut late afternoon!). I really enjoyed it and would recommend it. 

Last night I drove over to Sheringham to see the comet, but no joy. You could see the stars very easily, but there was a bank of cloud low to the horizon, so I assume it was behind that. 

Day 128 / Full Day 120 of Lockdown / Day 18 of Step 3 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 110 to 45,422 with new daily cases up by 445. Deaths in Brazil pass 80,000. California reported 11,800 new cases yesterday and is shutting down again. Global cases To date pass 15m up 1m in 4 days, with a third of all confirmed cases in the last 24 days. A Wellcome Trust Director told the House of Commons' Health Committee that 'things will not be done by Christmas' and that humanity would be living with the virus for decades. The Govt deficit for the 3 months Apr-Jun was £127.9bn (for the previous 12 months the deficit was £55.4bn). EU leaders agree a €750bn package to help rebuild economies, €390bn in grants for the hardest hit like Italy and Spain and €360bn in low interest loans which can be applied for by member states. Market research reports that an additional £24m was spent in the UK during 3 months of lockdown on tea and coffee, and an extra £19m on biscuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.