Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Two Years

So, I can’t believe I’m even saying this but I’ve been in Manchester for TWO YEARS! If you’re an oldie but goldie you will know I used to live much further north with my mum and dad, then I moved to Sunderland and now here. It feels honestly like two seconds ago but then also like I’ve been here for a million years. I’ve learnt so much whilst being here and I just bought for anyone who has met me only in Manchester or maybe has known me back home too, I would humour you in the fun things and facts I’ve picked up along the way.

1. They call a bun a barm or a barm cake and sometimes even a teacake as a bun but we all know a teacake has raisins in it. Wierd.
2. Most people aren’t from Manchester who live here. Lee says ‘you’re either born here or some are drawn here’ which I love.
3. The manc accent is shocking .
4. The insane Liverpool/Manchester rivalry bores me but I adore the city/united one as I continue to get rude customers and in my head I go ‘bloody city fans’ even though I have no idea what team they support.
5. Quite a lot of Manchester is just houses and some are gross and some are nice like worsely is nice and I got the bus from Stockport and that was great too.
6. I still have no idea where everything is. Is Bolton north? Where is Ashton? Why is the hell is the airport so damn far away?
7. The Trafford centre is still one of the most magical places I’ve ever been too even though I am there everyday.
8. There are some absolutely amazing takeaways here even though I have such high pizza standards.
9. As someone who is from further north, I find Manchester quite south.
10. Everything seems to like the Gallagher twins but I think they are both arseholes.
11. Did you know that in prison you are still entitled to eye tests and free glasses? Mad.
12. Going on from that, you could of murdered your whole family and the NHS gives you LITERALLY free glasses and half decent ones too!
13. I really enjoy how much tea they drink here.
14. Aldi is my favourite place in the whole world and it’s 30 seconds from my house.
15. Two years later and I’ve just managed to figure out how to budget my money.
16. Never in my life have I ever felt so welcome, so loved and so appreciated by the people I have met here.
17. I watched this documentary about the Rochdale human trafficking and now I am so afraid of everyone who is slightly weird.
18. The highest prescription I have seen is -22.00 which is just the blindest of all eyes.
19. I have learnt A LOT about the Muslim religion and the culture. Honestly I feel like work is an RE lesson everyday.
20. It only takes 2.5 hours to get to London from here on a speedy train.



Happy blipping

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.