Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Blurred Vision

So every year I sort of do a recap. The past few years I’ve done a ‘Turning __ years old’ post and this year I was geared up to do the same for turning 25 but I was stopped in my tracks.

This is a classic case of ‘it won’t happen to me’. You what people losing their jobs all the time on the radio and yeah you think wow that’s so awful, imagine losing your job. But then you selfishly think meh well it’s not me so that’s alright. When corona first reared it’s ugly head, I asked my boss ‘do you think we will close?!’ To which he laughed and said ‘nice try!’

So when we closed I think it hit me harder than most. I don’t have a lot in Manchester in terms of family or friends. It’s sort of just me & lee plus a few extra folk who I adore, but I don’t think I’d say I have a network of people down here. So when I work somewhere that’s sort of my life? Like the people I get to know add to the only people I’ve met, if that makes any sense.

I was absolutely heart wrenchingly saddened soul crushingly crushed when I was told I was being made redundant. Me and my job were like two peas in a pod! It was basically the best job ever and I had all the freedom and the hours were excellent and blah blah. I think I spent a solid 3 days on the sofa crying before I knew what to do next. Everyone told me ‘there’s so much out there! You’ll be fine!!’

I’ve decided losing a job is like being dumped. Sometimes unexpected, hurts a lot, and you feel very lost afterwards.

Needless to say, I am at a crossroads in my 25 year old life. I have not the bloodiest clue what I’m going to do next so please don’t ask me and don’t tell me things will get better. Let me cry and be heartbroken, and let me look at new jobs in disgust because they are suggesting I work a Sunday.

On to better days.

Happy Blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.