Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Hero

I feel like with all this negativity knocking about I thought I’d tell you all about my hero.

So it all started on the faithful night in Barcelona (if you’re new here, please go back a few posts and it’ll explain all) when I was losing my mind. On the cruise ship that we were on you could watch films (sort of like a crap Netflix) and I was just flicking through for anything remotely light hearted and I found Cars. Now, back in the day when it came out me and my friends at the time absolutely slated this film because it was so lame and talking cars etc. I think it was probably because it was a kids film and we were 16 and far too cool for talking cars or anything of the like. So fast forward a cruel 6 years where I’m on this boat fearing for my life and I’m watching this film like it’s the best thing I’ve ever seen.

Firstly if you haven’t seen Cars please for the love of all that is holy, educate yourself. In summary it’s a classic case of someone who thinks they’re better than everyone else then they get brought down a peg or two and he comes out as a good guy. I’m not sure if it’s the music or the colours or something but I was obsessed with Cars. The film it’s self isn’t groundbreaking but the memories and the happiness it holds is so much to me. I’ve said before but I’ll say it again, last year was absolutely atrocious. My mental health plummeted to the lowest it’s been in maybe ever, I struggled to get out of bed, to even go downstairs was too much for me. So I would sit in bed and I’d watch Cars and the song ‘life is a highway’ would come on and for a moment or two my mind would be filled with joy and I’d forget about my worries.

When we went to America (best holiday of all time) we went to this lake where we saw the alligators and it was so cool, something I’d really been looking forward too. Anyways, we were in this monster truck and it’s a bit of a long drive and I got dad to put the radio on and the song that was literally JUST starting was ‘Life is a highway’ and I just knew that everything was going to be okay.

That’s why Lightening McQueen is my hero.

Happy Blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.