Kipsie

By Kipsie

Saturday night's alright

for carnival shenanigans, BUT first the Table Top & Garden Plant Sale .... Of course it rained overnight just so that my trays of plants had soggy bottoms.I was however prepared, I dropped the back seats down in my little Aygo, lined the car boot with used compost bags then topped with newspaper. That should do it. Well the boot was full, 2 trays precariously perched on the front passenger seat, behind the front seats went the paper bags, plastic food trays that I thought might be useful for carrying plants, the Rowcroft Hospice bitz n bobs. My car chocka, it was hubby's car next. Boot, front passenger seat, foot well, only 1 plant that would'nt fit in anywhere & that just happened to be the plant with no ident .. Result!
Down to the village hall in Chudleigh Knighton, unload, table top peeps begin to arrive, Gary the bird table man, Aimme, the Body Shop young lady, Sandra & hubby (bric-a-brac), Josie arrived and got stuck into sorting the raffle prizes that I brought down in the car, more raffle prizes then  arrived, smellies, a choc fudge cake. A lemon drizzle cake baked to cut. A lady then arrived with a disability shopping trolley, introduced herself as Myris, explained that the trolley plus contents was for us to sell for the charity, she then departed.  Sandy arrived, she was organizing the refreshments for me :) Mum arrived just as I was rescuing renegade charity balloons from the road outside the village hall. I set the plants up outside on the lawn. We togged ourselves up in our purple Team Rowcroft tee shirts & off we went. The outcome was we had a fantastic morning, Jos did a fantastic job with the raffle, Sandy & Mum did a super job with the refreshments, I sold lots of plants  & we raised an incredible £367. Well chuffed, we sat out in the sunshine and relaxed with a cuppa & the last of the cake. Car packed up, time to head home. Could'nt quite squeeze everything in so Jos followed me back with odds n sods. We sat outside and had well deserved cider & chat.
It was Chudleigh Carnival procession night so we decided to go up and watch, plus I thought it might be a good opportunity for a silly Saturday blip pic. This is it ... I'm guessing they are the two ugly sisters .. they certainly appeared to be enjoying themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.