I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

There's an Eagle!

I am grateful that I travel with the worlds top eagle spotter. I have seen more eagles in the past three days that I have in my lifetime. We went to Fort Worden to see the light house and as we were finding a parking space, I hear...."there's an eagle".

Car parked, camera gear out and we were happy campers. (see Laura's journal for the setting and more tufted puffins and other birds from last night).

On the way home, Laura slowed down, saying there was something happening ahead. As we approached this scene in the first extra, we were grateful that we didn't leave any earlier as this had just happened and we saw the emergency vehicles coming to the scene. We hope that nobody was seriously hurt.

Now, for last night's adventure.....I did not get fabulous pictures, but the evening was beautiful, the water calm as a lake, and we saw a wide variety of sea birds and wildlife. The tufted puffins weren't plentiful (see second extra) but I was happy to get the opportunity to see them in person and photograph them. My third extra is two rhinoceros auklets flying home with food for dinner.

I would definitely do this again! I learned a lot about photographing on a moving boat and getting focus on birds in the distance.

Until tomorrow.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.