MikeWest

By MikeWest

Paper White

I liked the delicate textures of the flower heads on this hydrangea and how the petal shades vary depending on which way they face and the light being reflected. They remind me of all the different whites you get with swatches at the paint store. The little green balls add an interesting note.

This evening was dull, overcast and breezy which presented quite a challenge to photographing plants and flowers. I had to increase iso substantially and more than I would have liked, to enable a high enough shutter and freeze the plant's movement in the breeze.

At this magnification, almost any wind causes movement and timing is critical to capture the shot in a lull. I experimented using a two second timer and immediate release, but either method was not ideal. I think my cable release would have helped, but I can't use it in portrait orientation.

I used the detail masking and luminance noise reduction in LR to try and deal with noise in the image. I'm not sure how successful I was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.