Wash Day

I was up early to take my car to the service station, as my "low pressure" light for the tires has been going off for weeks now, & while Tom checks all the tires and adds air if needed, it's getting annoying. One of the guys there checked the tires out & I had about an inch long piece of metal in the right rear tire--it looked like a nail without the head--so they fixed it for me right away. I asked how much I owed them and Tony (the owner)said "You don't owe us anything. You bought the tires here (over a year and a half ago, mind you) so it's on the house." Talk about customer service! I stopped on the way home to buy all the items I'll need for the food I'm making for my nieces' shower next Sunday, returned my books to the library & came home......only remembering as I backed into the driveway that I should have taken a camera along for MonoMondays' theme of "street scene". So instead I took a "yard scene" (not the same, I know, & I'm okay with that). My wonderful 82 y.o. neighbor always hangs her clothes and sheets out to dry in the summer. Both my grandmas used to do that too, and the fresh smell of sheets dried in the sun is one I always associate with them. My neighbor & I chatted as I unloaded my groceries and she finished hanging the shirts, & it gave me such a sense of nostalgia. When I was younger & visited either of my grandma's houses, that's what all the neighbors did on "Wash Day"......hung the clothes on the line and gossiped back and forth;  they all knew one another, & had such a strong sense of community. I grew up out in the country with no neighbors around (& with 6 children's worth of dirty clothes, my mom used the dryer!) so I just thought Wash Day in the city was the greatest thing ever! :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.