Kipsie

By Kipsie

Clifford Street ...

I can remember my Grandparents living here at Number 53 Clifford Street, Chudleigh, they moved up when Plymouth was bombed during the war. We lived in Chudleigh Knighton. I was going to stay the night (a sleepover) Grandad came down on his motorbike to fetch me. I was strapped to him  by a belt around our middles, we then traveled back up to Chudleigh, a journey of approx 3 miles. That would'nt be possible today without breaking the law. I was only there for about an hour before I decided I wanted my Mum, wanted to go home ... back on the motorbike, strapped together then home again. Sleepover postponed until another day.

Spent a few hours on the allotment first thing, feeding & watering the beans, sweetcorn, pumpkin, squash, courgettes. All looking strong & healthy. Tied in the new young growth on the  briar, I have'nt been able to identify it yet. I know one thing, it's not the easiest plant to handle but it's loaded with fruit. The thorns are really vicious. Picked my first blueberries, a handful of blackcurrants, then weeded thoroughly. They're under netting so that I get to them before the local wildlife. which makes weeding that more difficult. Picked my first runner beans of the season, gave them a good feed, I don't they will as good as last year as I did'nt fill the trench with manure before planting. Got chatting to a couple just finishing for the day on their plot. We discussed manure supplies, apparently there is a local farmer who delivers .. a load costs £20. Think that might be easier than lugging bags of manure, although that was free. Free is always good. Harry the Thatch, has moved to a small holding in East Devon, but I'm tempted to contact the new occupants. They don't have any livestock, but do have lots of dung. Might just pop a note in their letterbox.
Back home I tidied up the seed & pot trays, spare plastic plant pots. Took them up the allotment. Planted up part of the new rockery that I created last week. Quite a few of the plants remaining after the sale will be found a home in the new front border, but the ground is too hard to dig.
'Street scene'. Lunch over I wandered up through Clifford Street, the two young lads cycled past me so quickly snapped them.

Thanks to carolina for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.