Seen the boys on the make and on the bum

We have had such a lovely few days.   - Saturday we started with Glasgow - hit our fav, drunk a bit, ate a bit, and wandered home, tired and emotional. 

We got up early on Sunday and headed East and then South. 

Alnwick was our first stop - and we headed for Barter Books.  I was in Love - I have seen photos of the place and desperately wanted to visit.  Si said it was too far for a day out - so we had to combine it with something else. 

After Barter Books - we headed for Lindisfarne and the Holy Isle.  We timed it perfectly and hit the island across the causeway, just as everyone else was leaving.  We stopped and walked on the largest shore for a while, and then headed into town.  

( I said all this yesterday but I was slightly two sheets to the wind :D)

We found our way back to our residence for the evening, very lovely and very perfect.  (Maybe too perfect for me). ... 

This morning, we rose, showered, and headed for breakfast after a couple of cups of tea. 

First Class was the place we chose (there are maybe 5 eateries on the whole of the island).   it was lovely.   Bacon butties and tea! Perfect. 

Then we walked the length of the Island to the castle, and climbed it's steep walls.   Then we visited the Lime Kilns, and then we headed for Gertrude Jeckle's  Garden. 

Mo at work had said to me there was a garden to her... but I had NO IDEA who she was.  Now I am sorted and I know who she was.  She was an 1800's Charlie Dimmock (without the braless teeshirts). 

We walked from the Castle to the shore, and the over to the Garden.  heaven's but it was beautiful (See extra) and very scented with large sweetpeas.   Please note I did not steal anything. 

Then we headed back to the town, bimbled round the shops and the streets, and then off to the car. 

We headed for berwick, but we couldn't find a parking space so we headed for Coldstream, and stopped off at the Honey Farm.   The honey farm was lovely and I stood for ages staring at the hive which was active inside the museum.  I tried to find the Queen but I couldn't. 

We bought some honey - Si can NEVER resist honey, and some wildflower seeds. and headed back to the car for a little lunch and drinks. 

Then we just headed back slowly up the road. 

We got back to two very annoyed cats - but they were fine.  I gave them extra food dotted round the garden, made them a bed up in the shed - they were fine.  Just annoyed. 

Then we visited the allotment to check on stuff, because we had heard of high winds and heavy rain, but everything was just fine.   We pulled some more peas ( that's 3/4 of a kilo. so far). 

Then we went and grabbed an Indian, and now I am sitting, stuffed, happy and exhausted. 

Roll on Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.