biddy

By biddy

Just perfect!

We walked along field paths this afternoon on a near perfect day. 
There was a breeze creating the soft rustling of the leaves. A sound I love. 
It so reminds me of the fields of summer in my youth, only a few yards from the house where I was born, where I and my young friends would paddle in the stream which rippled it's way along the edges of the pasture, and pick the sweet smelling clover to take home to put into jam jars on the windowsill  The smell of new mown pastures lingers on in my senses, of late summer when the farmer who owned the fields, along with some volunteer helpers, using pitchforks, would collect the hay and load it on to his cart, which was pulled by a gentle cart horse, back to the barn to be stored.    
   Those fields and pastures are now covered by houses.
Tomorrow it will be 32C which is not conducive to a long walk. 
     Today was simply one to store in the memories to be savoured at times when summer days seem far away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.