New Year's Dip

Some years ago, I was convinced to have a New Year's dip from the iced pontoons of Croabh Haven. It was snowing at the time and conditions were treacherous. Having survived, typical of Argyll, the charity balls, pre Christmas, Christmas, post Christmas and mid season parties, prior to the Hogmany Ball at Lunga House, I can assure you there was very little red blood left in my veins! It was so cold! The moment I hit the water I knew it was a big mistake. Not something I would do again today. I'm happy to let the dogs do it for me. This is Maera swimming in the last rays of the evening sun.

Auspicious, I hope, we had bright light and predominately blue skies all day. Such a relief!

I returned home from work this morning with the determination to comment to everyone who has made my blip journey so far such a wonderful adventure. Many of you know I've been struggling to keep up and I can't see my time augmenting in the near future.
Please, excuse my Round Robin but it was the only way I could think of to reach my goal before the witching hour when the world wakes up. First footing seemed a novel idea as it isn't practised often today. The first foot was traditionally a tall, dark-haired male bearing gifts of coal in return for whisky and a plate of Clootie Dumpling. It was though to bring luck to the household. I'm neither dark nor male but hope this can be excused in a virtual world.

I came home whilst Dorking roads were alive with weary bodies trudging home at 5am. By midday the traffic along the main road was worse than a Monday morning rush hour and the nearby car park had overflowed more than I've seen other than for the Olympic Cycle races. Everyone was out to enjoy this first afternoon of the year.

What ever you have been doing I hope you have had fun and that this year will be amazing. Happy New Year!

If you go back to my year ago, you will see I was happy to be soaked to the skin as the rain was so scarce!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.