The approaching fog

The same as yesterday, fog began to roll up the side of the Grey Lynn gully just as I was packing my bag to head off to work. I thought it was worth a photo (or two; the second wasn't as good). 

Along with the operations manager I interviewed an England based psychiatrist for a locum position for later in the year. Some of her answers to our questions gave rise to thoughts about how we could (and should) improve what we do; at least how we do it.

Thereafter, it was full on. The best bit of the day was two assessments of Maori patients. The Kai Atawhai staff led a culturally appropriate introduction, and the assessments were done in their Whare hui (Meeting house). Both patients appreciated the acknowledgement, and both spoke more openly and were more willing to accept the treatment advice they were offered.

The worst part was a full on example of the inability of different parts of our services to collaborate meaningfully in the interests of the patient. Sorting it kept me late and I rode home in the dark. Something I could do without.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.