A bit too soon - BUT...

... there's a reason.
(Criterion #1)
I think it was last Jerraday, or one before, he saw a tadpole still more tad than pole; I stress I did not disbelieve since I saw one myself next day, without even searching. 
I've, recently, been "weeding" removing several pounds of water Forgetmenot.
Today it was Duckweed's turn; though I called it a similar sounding name. I spotted a few wiggles as I lifted one netful so I parked it in the water & sought the camera - very remiss. I was a little gobsmacked to net both an immature froglet AND a tadpole still with only vestigial back legs.
This caused a bit of "whatif" thought... What if they were genetically planned to mature in succession so as to guarantee some emerged through a "clement" weather window?
Unfortunately they never sit still long enough to check if today's out of the water was, in fact, smaller that yesterdays from the front garden. Unlike an earlier one, THIS one was more than happy to leap madly IN to the water rather than scramble up my hand to avoid it, so it MAY have been smaller?
I've, always found it quite amazing how much bulk one shed in the metamorphosis.
: ¬ ( 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.