The first sunset...

New Year's Day didn't go quite to plan. I'd been envisaging a wonderful sun-filled walk to somewhere a bit different - the Nene Washes perhaps or even Wicken Fen. Instead I spent the morning in bed, having been struck down with a mild bout of Norovirus in the middle of the night.

I wouldn't mind having a throbbing head and feeling nauseous if I could blame it on the effects of the night before. But we had a relatively quiet New Year's Eve, as the two older boys were out celebrating elsewhere. Pete, Ben and I went to see the Hobbit, which I enjoyed a lot more than I expected, despite having to sit at the front of the cinema almost uncomfortably close to the screen. Initially the angle of view made me feel quite ill, but within ten minutes my brain had adjusted and it looked fairly normal, except during fast panning shots! Then it was home for one or two celebratory drinks and a few rounds of Bananagram!

I eventually dragged myself out of bed at lunchtime and by the middle of the afternoon felt well enough to take Rosie out for a local walk, though I felt a good thirty years older than normal! We stopped at the Rowing Lake on the way and caught the setting sun over the floodwaters, which are now dropping rapidly, thank goodness. Pete is cooking dinner tonight - I just hope I can summon up enough appetite to enjoy it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.