New Year...new orchid flower

Today there's been virtually no time for photography - we've been entertaining Pete's Mum and brother. I opted for a fairly easy meal of beef and chestnut casserole cooked in Guinness accompanied by leek colcannon - really delicious! The sticky toffee puddings and banoffeee trifle also went down well :). I think a long walk's in order for tomorrow.

When I drew back the curtains this morning I saw that my white butterfly orchid was in flower. The spike has been developing over the last month or so, but it seemed particularly appropriate that it should open today - a symbol of hope for the coming year.

Late this evening I placed it on my desk, and when I looked through the lens I realised the bokeh from the Christmas tree lights made an interesting background, extending the shape of the flower. Mind you, I think I really need to clean my sensor as it showed up all the dust spots.

I'm not one for making lots of New Year resolutions, but my photographic ones include:
tidying and key-wording my catalogue (already in progress);
looking for more ways to use my photographs (and possibly earn a little money);
developing my collection of insect photographs, especially extreme macros;
cleaning my sensor!!

Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.