Trip to Bass Rock

At last my trip to Bass Rock went ahead lastTuesday and the weather smiled upon us. It is a really awe-inspiring experience to be so close to the largest gannet colony in Europe. Hundreds of birds literally two or three metres away from you. With their long necks and distinctive plumage they make stunning geometrical shapes. With my longest zoom lens I was able to get in quite close and also to probably take some of my best shots of birds in flight. Thank heavens for digital photography as I shot over 2300 images, mainly on my fastest motor drive speed so it has taken ages to whittle them down to manageable proportions (around 500) and then choose about a hundred picks. That is why my blip has been so long delayed. Obviously Blipfoto is not set up to give space such a large body of work but I have included 7 extras as I know I will never have another opportunity to repeat this experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.