Plumb jobs

More humid than yesterday, I struggle to concentrate. Abstracts are edited, emails sent. I tinker with chapter 4.

As the working day ends, I return to the bathroom. The flexible WC connector would be perfect, except it’s width prevents it fitting into the drain pipe, which is unnecessarily close to the wall. Another trip to Screwfix is required.

Before that, I install the new pump in the burn. It’s cool down there, under the lime trees, but a haven for cleggs and midges. Bitten and itching, I complete the install, but leave it untested.

My evening drive takes me first to Screwfix, Penicuik. Thence to Kinghorn to collect the Amazon package that I’d had delivered to the wrong address. And finally Glasgow, to collect the cancelled Interrail card and say goodbye to Angus.

He had his BA interview today and is relatively enthusiastic. He is one of ten being interviewed, whittled down from 500 applicants. They’ll let him know if he’s got the apprenticeship by the end of next week, by which time he’ll be somewhere in Eastern Europe.

Back home via Braehead. A lovely windy road that deserves a motorcycle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.