BRIANW

By BRIANW

Too Hot, Even For A Tiger, Aylesford

The journey home on a sweat-soaked train yesterday left me feeling decidedly out of sorts. I woke up with a banging headache (I think I may have a wee bit of heatstroke) only to find out the train timetable had fallen apart and we were being warned to not travel unless completely necessary.
Warnings about buckled tracks, cancelled trains and long journeys home made up my mind - it wasn't worth putting up with the hell just to make it in and feel dreadful (and massively stressed). I also have no air conditioning in my black box of a studio.
So stay at home it is - but even here I have never experienced heat like this today for a very long time. The only comparison I can make is being in Greece in the middle of a heatwave nearly thirty years ago. Then, our tour operator cancelled trips to Athens because it had reached 42C. It feels just as hot now.
Today's main shot I think sums up the temperature perfectly. Even while taking this shot my camera was almost too hot to touch.
Extra is called "Seeking A Seat In The Shade".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.