BRIANW

By BRIANW

Sailing At The Mote, Maidstone

It's probably almost 20C cooler than on Thursday! Also, the suffocating humidity has all but disappeared into the the ether. Thursday night was a particular low point - so sticky and unbearable that I had less than two hours sleep. By Friday afternoon, and after a very busy day work wise, I felt like an exhausted zombie.
Today was just a quick trip to Mote Park where I took today's image before the weekly food shop. I remember going to the Park as a kid and seeing almost exactly this scene but, for a while, couldn't pick out what was different and then I realised - the miniature yachts were so perfectly formed that with a squint of the eye and a suspension of disbelief they looked so realistic, jewel like copies of the real thing. When I was small they looked so much more homemade.
I thought, at first, it seemed like a very relaxing activity and then I heard the countdown "5, 4, 3, 2, 1 - GO, GO GO!!! it was a mini regatta and they were all going out to win!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.