MikeWest

By MikeWest

Propeller

I have to admit that the association between this plant and a propeller only struck me in retrospect when I came to edit the image in LR. The fact that the plant's name is Rocket is ironic. The petals are arranged in a spiral which reminded me of the blades of a propeller.

I shot this looking straight down at a wide aperture so that only the top petals are in focus which I think accentuates its elongated shape. Another name I came across was 'Bottle Rocket', I assume because it resembles a bottle brush.

The extreme bright saturated yellow is enhanced by the contrasting dark green leaves. I thought about a square crop of the main subject, because there isn't much else of interest, but I decided it was better with the negative space around the flower to set it off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.