A vet visit

This morning I discovered a drop of blood on the bathroom floor and blood on Minkelina's stool in the litter box.  Clearly a visit to the veterinarian was called for.  We hadn't been to the vet for eight years, not since the last bloody bottom incident, and I knew she would fight me as I tried to get her into the box.  Lex came over, bringing her old box, and I had closed all the doors leading from the living room so she couldn't get away.  It was still a real struggle but I finally got her in, meowing loudly.  She kept it up the whole way to the vet (which is just across the street on the other side of Highway 99) and once we were in the exam room she just  hissed and snarled.  When I began to open the box, she lashed out at me and made a good slice across my finger.  She was far more traumatized than I.

The vet couldn't find anything obviously wrong with her and suggested the problem could be stress.  Well, as you know, there is hardly a cat less stressed than Minkelina.  In the end he recommended a short course of a special prescription kibble and a probiotic to be sprinkled on it.  And he gave her a rabies shot.  So we will see.

This poster, advising pet parents against getting their pet-related information from the Internet, caught my eye and thought you might like it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.