The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Cup of Music

Music has been a part of my life since I went to my first opera at age 1 year. My mom didn't want to leave me with anyone, so when she chaperoned a school trip to see a mantinee of The Magic Flute, I was in tow. Much to her surprise, I enjoyed it.

She once told me that I would sing along with my musical mobile when I was going in for my naps. One of my favorite toys was a small record player that she got for me for one of my early birthdays. I would sit for hours playing 45's of Disney songs and stories that had books to go with them.

Our neighbor played the flute, and I decided that I loved it and wanted to take lessons when I was old enough to join the band at school. Over the years, I go pretty good at it, and eventually went to a music conservatory and played professionally.

A few years ago, I decided to start teaching flute again, and found it very difficult to get students. Today, music lessons have a lot of competition with the various sports that kids start at very young ages.

I was fortunate to have one little girl who made teaching again worth while. She was very small for her age, and was a competitive gymnast. One Christmas, she gave me this adorable little cup of music as a gift.

It is small and sits on the buffet in my dining room. A reminder that little things can make me smile, even when I'm feeling blue.

My first Blip of 2013 is for Michelle, who is now a senior in high school. Although she stopped playing the flute, she is a star gymnast, and one of the most gifted flutists I ever had the pleasure of mentoring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.