The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Different Angel

I developed a fondness for angels many years ago. There are many different sorts of angels, who seem to bridge over many religions and spiritual paths.

Many years ago, I began to pray to my Guardian Angel every morning and again before retiring for the night. I firmly believe that angels guard us from harm every day, and the more one appreciates this divine protection, the stronger the angelic forcefield becomes.

This angel is a Neopolitan ornament, given to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City by Loretta Hines Howard. She dates from the late 1700's and is made of terra cotta, wood, and silk. This beauty appears on the annual Christmas tree at The Met.

What makes this particular Blip special is that I have photographed her from a pop-up card, sent to me by my cousin, who is a frequent patron of the museum. She is a paper image, yet the detail of craftsmanship shines through.

Luke 15:10 states: "There is a joy in the presence of angels."

I have to agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.