The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Updated Classic

Grilled cheese and tomato soup was always a favorite lunch or Friday night dinner when I was a kid. My mom must have made many a grocer's monthly bills with what she spent feeding our large family.

Back then, it was always white bread, American cheese, and Campbell's Tomato Soup. It never varied.

My first introduction to an exotic touch to grilled cheese was at my friend Jane's house, where her mom put ketchup on the cheese before grilling. I thought I had died and gone to heaven, and still make this style grilled cheese every so often.

Today, grilled cheese has taken on a gourmet palette and includes everything from bacon to apples & jam, and just about anything else you care to put between two slices of bread.

Tonight, we went for basic grilled cheese with Mozzarella, Muenster, and Provolone, but went wild and made homemade tomato soup. It ended up being a big hit.

One of the things about classic comfort food is how easy it is to mix things up a bit and make it fit your mood. A splash of white wine, a nice base of caramelized tomatoes, and a mirepoix, set the stage for something far better than a can of soup.

My mom would have loved this soup, and I am happy that my daughter suggested we make our own tonight. It was inexpensive, easy to make, and highly nutritious. (Okay, so I admit that grilled cheese isn't exactly the healthiest, but who can resist?)

We may never open a soup can ever again, and that makes me smile. An updated classic filled with fond memories of childhood.

Bon Appetit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.