Arc, by Charlotte Fisher (2004)

Today I decided to take my sandwiches, and walk out into the domain, in an attempt to build up a bit more Vitamin D by sitting in the sunshine.

I hadn't even got past the end of the building  containing the inpatient unit when I was distracted by the noise of a group of tui in a tree. I got out my small Canon and tried to get some photos. They were so active and I am even slower sorting out a photo when looking at a screen display than when I'm using my DSLR. The best of the photos was not worth keeping.

Close by the park bench where I sat and relaxed was this sculpture by Charlotte Fisher. Made of bronze and granite, it has been blipped by me once before. This was what I was able to read about it:

Fisher describes her work as a metaphor for the experience of migration. The imagery for the top element was derived from an ancient European petroglyph. Its exact meaning is not known but it may depict figures in a boat. It has intrigued her for many years and inspired the arcs and boat forms in her work.
The siting of Arc acknowledges that the Domain was once closer to the foreshore. It still provides a good vantage point to view the arrivals and departures of vessels in the harbour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.