Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lift off to a new year!

I know, I know ... another woodpecker. But how could I resist? And, now that I've figured out that he likes to come first thing in the morning for corn, I can sit and wait for him to arrive, take his single kernel and then lift off. Every 50 or so shots, I get one in focus and then if I get REALLY lucky, I get some wing action. I was actually debating to post this one or a shot of him vigorously defending the feeder against a dove but I was drawn to this one --- something about those beautiful wings.

And this is my first entry for the BlipBigYear

Right after the dove/woodpecker confrontation, the dove hopped back to the feeder and did a rather impressive tail-fan, something I've not seen before. I think he may have been showing off for his friends.

And speaking of friends, hubs and I met my friend Ellen for lunch today and had a great visit. Lots of laughs. I've know Ellen for over 25 years - she's a wonderful, dear friend.

Dinner last night was lovely and we decided on a bottle of Cabernet savignon that had been in the cellar for 8 or 9 years - it was absolutely lovely with the lamb. I'm embarrassed to confess that we did not make it to midnight - does that mean we are old and boring? Naw, can't be.

Quiet evening planned tonight to include some catching up on journals...

Hope your new year is off to a great start!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.