Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Do keep up, children!

Mum swan put on a burst of speed that these four young cygnets couldn't match, although they did their best. This was at Threipmuir Reservoir in the Pentlands. I had already been to the hide at Bavelaw Moss and seen a young family of seven tufted ducklings and an adolescent family of five cygnets. There was also a little grebe nest with parents in attendance, but I couldn't see how many chicks there were. So there was still a fair amount of young bird life around. I took photos of all the young birds, but they were too small for my camera. At least swans and cygnets are a better size!

I've now added an extra photo of a cormorant that flew in while I was watching the swan family. It dived and then only partially resurfaced before diving again, a bit like a submarine putting its periscope up. Cormorants are a good size too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.