A day in the life

By Shelling

Symmetry

I just love the symmetry and the variation of these Blue Ball thistles, in English Globe Thistle. They arrive in my garden this time of year and the bees loves them too. The Latin name is Echinops bannaticus ('Ekhinos' is Greek meaning Hedgehog, 'ops' means appearence. 'bannaticus' means from Bannatica, which is an area in Romania). I didn't know any of this but most things can be looked up and it's fun to learn new things.


It's been another hot day today, spent mostly indoor playing, but tomorrow I'll be in Kalmar to see the world-touring Grand exhibition about van Gogh at Kalmar castle a second time. A friend of mine wants company and I wasn't sure what I thought about the spectacular way the exhibition was presented the last time I saw it. It will be given a second chance.


The stars has begun to appear, the brighter ones are clearly visible now and using my binoculars I see lots of the smaller, fainter ones too. It's now almost dark by ten o'clock at night, August is near.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.