A day in the life

By Shelling

Poetry

As usual on Sundays I was helping one of my friends with a garden concert. Today, a young poetresse was reading her own work and my contribution was to  help out with the sound so her voice could be heard by the rather small audience. 

Poetry reading isn't one of the bigger audience magnets in Sweden, if it's not read by one of the few well known readers and writers. Though, I must say, since the beginning of the nineties when we had "poetry slam" readings the interest, especially by young people, increased a lot and we now have several new talented poets performing their own work. That  mostly happened in the cities, it's harder to get a good crowd in smaller venues in the countryside. 

The audience was very much younger than normal, during the musical events, some were her friends and family but she delivered some very well written poetry and I was actually surprised how much I liked it, my predudiced expectations of a 21 year old woman's experience from life was, I'm glad to say, totally wrong. I had a lovely afternoon, admiring her skill, power and courage. 

Luckily I took a picture earlier in the day, far too romantic to represent her poetry, more likely myself, in one way or another.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.