A day in the life

By Shelling

Hay lady

I had a nice day off today, slept til half past eight before I got up. I didn't sleep undisturbed though, at half past five I woke up to the loud, growling sort of sound, cats make when they're really pissed off. It was coming from the inside of the house though, so I thought I'd better get up to see what was going on. Apparently  a neighbouring cat had managed to get in through an open window and was now under attack from my cat. I opened the porch door and put my cat in another room so the poor intruder dared to get out, while I went back to bed. It's very exciting in the country some mornings.

The rest of the day I was at rest.
At six o'clock I did go for a long walk that I thought my body earned from resting so well, so I went through The Grove where I met a small tractor pulling a wagon full of hay and a woman on top. She smiled as soon as I took a picture and I said it was a long time since I saw anyone on top of a hay wagon. Since the Iron-age, she said and laughed out loud. 

She belonged to the group of people who tend the small fields in The Grove according to ancient traditions on how to mind a meadow the right way. They harvest the hay using scythes, gather it and puts it on the wagon with hay-forks. It was right after that, that I met them. Very nice to see and I admire their work to keep the fields open, to make sure there is ecological diversity in the fields and to make sure there is an abundance of insects here.

I give you one concert image from yesterday as an extra, just to prove I'm not making it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.