Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Willie

Jerry ran away to his hunting camp today (always something to do there and maybe a fishing trip at the pond). Which is really good for me as when he is here the tv stays on...all day...even if he goes outside! What is it about men and the tv?

I booted up Spotify to listen to music since he will be gone most of the day. It is the only time I can crank it up so it fills the room! (And so I can sing along and not really hear my bad singing voice). I like most music but being a child of the 60s I like the oldies best...rock and roll, Motown, and country. Today I decided on some classic American country music with Willie Nelson. How can we remember all the words to songs from 50 years ago? There are only a few songs on this playlist that I don't know. I really enjoy Willie and his daughter singing " Have you ever seen the Rain." Willie has a strange voice but he sings straight from his heart.

Anyway, this cowboy lamp is one we had in the spare room that I moved to the desk where I am doing my painting. I thought it was a fitting prop to go with Willie and Waylon Jennings singing their classic " Mommas don't let your babies grow up to be cowboys."

After Willie I might listen to some Aerosmith or Queen! Mix it up!


Have a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.