On The Caddis Case

I took MrQ to the Wildlife Trusts Festival of Wildlife at Panshanger Park, though I suspected that it wouldn't be of much interest to him. I attended the event two years ago and knew that vehicles would be allowed into the park. I thought he would like to see where Ollie dog and I enjoy exploring. He can't walk far at all now without getting tired and breathless. The stewards kindly let us park quite close to Riverside Cottage and the event area but he didn't want to get out of the car.

Ollie and I had a quick look around. I photographed the caddis fly larva above. It's amazing how these creatures construct protective cases for themselves. They choose small stones and stick them together with special silk. Not any stone will do. Notice how the irregular white stone, which I have indicated with an arrow, has stones around it which fit its shape perfectly. It is possible to buy caddis jewellery. The creatures are kept in aquariums where there are only flakes of gold, silver and precious stones for them to use to construct their cases.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.