Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Leaving Galapagos

Sadly all good holidays have to end. What a memorable and special holiday this has been. We have all fallen in love with the incredible wildlife here, which is so different from anything else we have ever seen. A magical place in the middle of the Pacific Ocean 1000km from the nearest mainland. The boys loved the mix of an educational holiday with physical activity, saying it was their best holiday. The boat has been perfect, at 100 guests it is the largest size allowed in the Galápagos, and being a larger boat was able to offer so many excellent amenities. It was also therefore more stable than a smaller boat and although we encountered some choppy waters over the past few days I never suffered from sea sickness as I usually do. By law the staff have to be Ecuadorian, and each and every one was so friendly and welcoming, all passionate about this beautiful corner of the world. By the second day the staff knew my name and always greeted me personally. They got to know our preferences and at breakfast I did not need to order my almond milk cappuccino, it just appeared! I feel so sad to be saying goodbye to all of this, it has been very special. We met some lovely people and I have exchanged phone numbers with another British couple. 

Last night all the staff assembled for us to thank them and to say goodbye. From the chef to the naturalists, each and everyone got a huge round of applause from the guests. Then the pro photographer showed us a video he had filmed throughout the week, which was brilliant. When we got back to our cabins there were two CD’s in a complimentary gift package, one of this video and one of all his photos. I will upload the video when I get home and share the link (the boys briefly feature in it) 

We had to clear our cabins by 7.30am and then after a leisurely breakfast we got ready to disembark at Baltra. There were a few minutes wait for the bus to take us to the airport which is when I took this final opportunity to photograph some birds, as can be seen in this image. This is a frigate, a beautiful streamline bird that has the highest wingspan to body weight ratio. I have added some extras of other birds that I photographed over the past few days, the blue footed booby, a brown pelican and of course I had to include some of Darwin's finches!

From Baltra we flew to Guayaquil, then on to Quito where we had a few hours layover. Here we said goodbye to Adam as he flies to Panama City to join his friends for their backpacking holiday. I uploaded my blip here while waiting at the airport, it was wonderful to have proper wifi again and this is why I have been able to add some extras. We are about to continue our journey and fly to to Lima where we will arrive at our hotel shortly before midnight. 

We have a day in Lima tomorrow before we fly home again tomorrow evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.