Simple&Perfect

Simple and perfect. The meaning of this Rose picture for today. I do take care for our roses around our home. I know it is part of my everyday exercise in gratefullness. So. there is something radically different at stake here, than in Voltaire's well known " il faut cultiver son jardin". It is not only about the work to be done in order to cultivate your garden.
A lifetime ago I as a young academic I was proud to learn and work with a Master. The first time he invited me to visit his remote rural cottage, he showed me his Rosegarden. He presented himself as the great Sportin' Life & Cultivator of Roses. A bit insecure I smelled the perfect flowers he pointed out to me. I really became impressed. Such a great garden! My parents, both schoolteachers, couldn't afford a groundfloor flat with a backside garden. So, I had learned to love the red geraniums at our small balcony. And felt perfectly happy with their simple redness.
But very soon after the smelling of my Masters splendid Rose, I experienced something strange. It turned out he did not care with his own hands for his rosegarden. It was his wife that handled the tools, planted the new ones, did the watering and cutting. Recieving loud and urging directives from her husband, the great master&Cultivator of his rosegarden.
I love to care personally for the manifold manifestations of our Rosefriends here. Willemien by the way having a much greater practical knowledge of our great garden. And certainly I do not work as much and as hard as she does around our house. But I realize with much attentiveness and practical effort why our rose is a rose is a rose. Simple and genuinely perfect. You may smell it with your spiritual nose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.