The Needles

It only seems like 5 minutes ago that I was celebrating my 2,500th blip with Charlotte & Tamzin, however, Blip tells me that today is my 2.555th blip, and therefore my 7 years blipversary.  Having lost a few days along the way I'm actually 5 months behind, my first blip being 14th February 2012 but I can't believe I'm still blipping after 7 years!  I struggle to comment sometimes, but I appreciate you all popping in with your comments, hearts and stars, so thank you once again!

Today I fulfilled my other desire whilst here on the Isle of White - I went on a boat trip around The Needles, having gone down the cliff face to Alum Bay on a chair lift first.  Alan doesn't 'do' heights so he said he'd walk down to the beach by the steps, however it turns out that the bottom set of steps  had collapsed two days ago and therefore the only access was by the chairlift.  I was already on the chairlift when I saw the beach access was closed, so messaged Alan to let him know, but he'd already found out.  I said I'd carry on down to the bottom and come back up, but he said I should still go on the boat trip, and while I was gone, he went to the Needles Old Battery which is a Victorian coastal defence and secret rocket launching site, now owned by the National Trust.

Luckily I didn't have to wait long for the boat and went out on the 20 minute trip which took us right up to the Needles and then back to Alum Bay where we could see the coloured sand in the rock face.  It was all pretty impressive and I struggled with my choice of Blip so went with Alan's choice in the end of the Needles with the lighthouse - I've added my other choice of Alum Bay to my extras.

We still had a couple of hours to spare before getting the ferry home, so we drove along the coast to Yarmouth where we went to a little cafe as Alan was in need of a coffee and cake, and then we had a stroll around the little town before heading to the port.  

Our ferry was on time and we had a really smooth crossing.  The weather's been so wonderful today that on looking back at the Isle of While as we set sail, it looking like we were leaving a tropical island!  It really is a beautiful place and I'm sure we'll go back.

Our journey home was great and we were home by 6.30pm.  Laura had left the boys and when I spoke to her later she said they're always really good for her, which is nice to know.  I unpacked, cooked dinner and now it's time for bed.

So once again, thank you for your support and friendship, you're a lovely lot! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.