An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Bags...

After my blue swirl of "The Electric Jellyfish" blip of yesterday, I obviously do have such shapes and colours 'on the brain'...

Having missed the good weather and a dull day forecast for tomorrow (later today) I thought I'd get this up. Whilst waiting for my kettle to boil I noticed these Tesco Value freezer bags, end-on, in a 'roll'.

They're blue, or at least when bunched up together and so with life-size macro (Tamron SP 90mm f2.8) at its closest focus and to get maximum of depth of field, a very small aperture (f64) to make it look more 'designed and scientific' I used a separate flashgun, which allowed a handheld shot.

Many, mostly from camera and equipment manufacturers will tell you that you can't use a normal flashgun when taking very close-up. Well, try it and see! You've nothing to lose! As long as it's fully compatible with your camera and other basics, there's no earthly reason why not. I used the flip-down wideangle diffuser, to spread the light and angled it slightly sideways but that was it. No bouncing off ceilings and all that... Don't try and complicate anything if you don't absolutely need, to, that's my motto.

The colour is as is. The shape of the folds remind me of rock formations - strata? (not a geologist)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.