First Day

A new year...I went over for a little fresh air to the park. Roosevelt Park is a local park of about 190 acres with a small lake, a half dozen picnic groves as well as sports fields. There are hiking/walking trails and paved paths for biking.
In the summer the county sponsors an outdoor theater festival called "plays in the park".
This park was a part of the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Works Progress Administration (WPA) that provided jobs for the poor and unemployed during the 1930's.
Around the lake are a few walk over wooden bridges that I have always loved standing on while watching the ducks swim under from one end of the lake to the other.
On my wedding day we went to this park for photographs after the ceremony. It was in my head to do it and there was no talking me out of it however, it just happened to be 103F that day and well, let's just say my bridal party, myself and my flowers were all wilting. In the photographs we all have a very healthy 'glow'....more like heat stroke but hey, it was my wedding day dammit. I wanted my park pictures! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.