secret garden

By freespiral

In search of St Flainn

Just back from an amazing two days around Cloghane on the Dingle Peninsula. Able to get out of bed after my mega walk yesterday (see backblip) I had received useful information that there was a Pattern Day in Brandon, a delightful village right on the sea - St Flainn was being honoured and he had a well. I came about this information in an interesting way - Michéal had told me of the pattern, we had tried to find the well yesterday evening and had asked at a house and was told by a young woman that there was no well to be seen. We went back to Cloghane to have some supper and who should be serving us but the young woman! She said she would make further inquiries and vanished into the kitchen later arriving with Tadhg. Tadgh's granny had the house near the well and he gave us instructions -  go close to but not past the house with the large conservatory. Look out for some sheep folds and go through those down towards the cliffs. Right. Today we thought we would investigate - we stopped off first at this stunning beach. We found the house with the conservatory and the sheepfolds and I even found Tadhg's dad. He was bemused, no -one had been down there in years, certainly not himself - and no one else was likely to be venturing down there today. He pointed across the fields and said the last bit would be tough but I was welcome to be as holy as I liked. I set off across the fields, was distracted by a sheep caught in a fence (more of that in a minute) then spotted a rustic looking gate. Always a good sign. What lay behind was less encouraging though, as I found out, very helpful. A blue rope - yes  I had to lowers myself down onto the rocks to find the well which turned out to be a minute spring issuing from a rock - miraculous alright! The view though was mighty. And the tide out.
I then staggered upwards, knees protesting after yesterday, to tell the farmer about the sheep. He'd seen it and hoped I might have sorted it. I said I did my best. He said it needed two sharp kicks in the arse.

Home now and a lie down in a darkened room!

Backblip:  On top of Mt Brandon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.