Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Hymn

A long lens view down Briggate, with Damien Hirst's sculpture, Hymn, taking centre stage. The piece forms part of the Yorkshire Sculpture International which has been taking place in Leeds and Wakefield over the summer. Hirst is one of the notable alumni of my current institution.

The kids and I had come into Leeds for a mooch and ended popping into my work as we were in the vicinity. we wandered up to the park and then back through town.

Later, back home, I toured the community garden and graveyard in search of early evening butterflies. I'd heard about yesterday's enormous influx of Painted Ladies over the Northumberland and Durham coasts and a couple had indeed reached us here in West Yorkshire. Presumably these have skipped over from Scandinavia and will top up the progeny of those that arrived in the last big influx a month or so ago, meaning we should get them all summer and into autumn before they start to head back south.  I also saw my first of the second generation Peacocks, along with Small Tortoiseshell, Small White and Red Admiral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.