Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

At the boatsheds

It's been a day when the weather just hasn't been sure what it wants to do, with all three places I've been today (home, Christchurch and Charteris Bay) experiencing fickle fluctuations. One minute bright sunshine, next minute heavy cloud, then rain, yet all the time quite warm. I guess this must be what Aucklanders have to put up with on a daily basis...

As the Nor'Wester brewed on the other side of the Port Hills, Dad and I went round to his boatshed on the point across from their place to cover up his pride and joy. Whilst we were there I set up my gear and captured a long-ish exposure of choppy Lyttelton Harbour with a brooding sky, with a little help from a ND4 and Circular Polarising filter...

Oh well, I suppose the rain is good for the garden and our new trees my brother-in-law bought us for Christmas...

Here's hoping that the wicked weather is kind to the rest of you in Aotearoa - it sounds like we're getting away lightly by all accounts. The pictures of the rivers in flood in the headwaters and on the West Coast are really quite mindblowing. And as for the 'planes having to abort landings at Wellington because of the side winds.... crikey.

Batten down the hatches people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.