Happenchance

By KimChristie

Dislocation

Well yesterday was a lovely day. We slept long, tidied the remnants of a riotous Hogmanay party, went for a lovely walk then skating and to finish it off I finally got back on blip. They happiness was unfortunately marred by the discovery that a dear friend had committed suicide a short while ago.
I knew him best in my teenage years. He was a good, kind, true person. We were the best of friends when we were together but we lived a fair distance away from each other so didnt meet too often and as life progressed we lost touch.
He was always in the back of my head. One of those people that comes into your life with the soul purpose of making it better, brighter, lighter and always adding laughter and fun. The kind of person who takes a piece of your heart.
We finally got in contact again some years back and although we hadn´t managed to meet up we kept in contact, checking in when we had the chance. Unfortunately I had not checked in for some time and then I thought to myself last night that I must wish him a happy new year. I was about to do exactly that but instead was greeted on his facebook page by a message from his brother announcing his death.
I contacted another old friend, the best friend of the one who has passed, and asked him what had happened. Apparently he had been struggling for some time and it all got too much. I never knew. Not once did he give me the slightest clue that things were bad, not that I imagine I could have made much of a difference, but i could have been more forthright in letting him know I was there if he needed me. So many "if onlys".
I am truly saddened. The sense of disbelief is quite overwhelming.
I am lucky. I have only good memories of him. So I will have to let that light shine, but the world is a little emptier without him in it. I hope he has found peace wherever he is now. He deserves at least that.
This blip signifies something of how I feel at the discovery of his death and probably not even a tiny fraction of how dreadful things must have been for him at the end. But he would certainly have seen the funny side of this shot. He always saw the funny side of things and when i knew him best he always saw the bright side of things. Times change.
They say we all die alone. I shouldn´t wish such an end for anyone.
He will be remembered.

Remember me when I am gone away,
Gone far away into the silent land;
When you can no more hold me by the hand,
Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay.
Remember me when no more day by day
You tell me of our future that you plann'd:
Only remember me; you understand
It will be late to counsel then or pray.
Yet if you should forget me for a while
And afterwards remember, do not grieve:
For if the darkness and corruption leave
A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,
Better by far you should forget and smile
Than that you should remember and be sad.
(Christina Rossetti)

Rest peacefully dear soul. <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.