50th Birthday!

Renata is 50
We couldn't not go over for her birthday! We had asked her what she was doing for her birthday, having a party? Going out for dinner with James and the girls? She said that there was so much going on with the bridal shower not long before her birthday, the wedding coming up soon after, and all the preparations for both, that she didn't really want to do anything. We told her that we wouldn't come over then, to save her more preparations. But how could we not celebrate this birthday with our "little girl"? So I talked to James when I was over for the shower and said that we'd like to surprise her. James said that he'd book reservations at a restaurant after he asked her where she'd like to go. We arranged to stay with Krista and to meet James, Renata and Kalyn at a really good Thai restaurant for dinner.
I sent her a message in the morning saying that we'd call her when G got home from golf (ha!) and asked if her card had arrived. It hadn't, of course. I sent her a Jacquie Lawson ecard. The rest of them managed to keep the surprise a secret, although she was suspicious all day. James went to work and she thought he'd gone to pick us up at the ferry. He came home without us. She thought Krista might pick us up, but Krista was working. She told Kalyn that there was no way I would be late sending her birthday card. Why hadn't it arrived?
Krista, G and I went to the restaurant a few minutes before the reservation time and hid behind our menus when we saw them come in. Renata was definitely surprised, although she said, "I knew in my bones that you'd be coming!" She said several times throughout the night, "I knew you would come, I knew you would come!" The gorilla and the balloon were on the table, and she enjoyed having the traditional 50th birthday gorilla passed on to her. G got it first on his 50th and it's been passed down to different family members over the years. We had a delicious dinner then went back to the house for presents and birthday cake made by James - a strawberry shortcake that was also delicious! Marky came over after work for cake too. Thanks to him for taking the photo. Renata said that she bent down so I wouldn't look so short! I am the shortest in this group for sure.
All in all, a great celebration for our amazing daughter. A great kid, an outstanding athlete, a wonderful wife and a fantastic mum. Love her to the moon and back.  :-))
I can't believe we have a 50-year-old daughter! I hardly feel a day over 50 myself! I was a young mum and a young Nana (Nanzy), and I'm so happy that everything worked out the way it has. G and I have been actively involved in our daughter and granddaughters' lives, more than we might have been if we'd been older parents/grandparents. So much fun.
Extras: G and Renata then...and now; G and Renata when we lived up north; the three of us up north

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.