The Swinghoppers

Thankfully, I was jolted out of my lowness this afternoon by the joyous Nimba from Guinea (extra) - the first band this weekend to get me worming my way towards the front and dancing (sort of - given the not-fully-recovered sprained ankle). It was a relief to feel brighter than 75%. Kora always helps. 

It was good preparation for this evening when, to my continued astonishment, firstborn's band, The Swinghoppers, was performing. On the same bill as Macy Gray, Ziggy Marley and Salif Keita! (Though I admit on a smaller stage than theirs.) The Swinghoppers do loads of festivals but WOMAD was the one I took my children to when they were small so it felt very special both to see him perform here and to have a backstage pass for taking photos. I took 350 in an hour (about one every 10 seconds!) and am still sorting but here's one which shows the energy bouncing to and fro between the band and the audience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.