Wild Goose Chase

I was back in the air again today. No, not heading back to England yet! This weekend I’m joining some friends at a Rodeo (!!) in eastern Oregon. The plan was to fly to Boise, Idaho, to meet 2 friends there, and then a 4 hour drive tomorrow.

Working for an airline has great benefits - free travel! But....only if seats are available. I decided to try for a mid afternoon flight even though I didn’t need to meet my friends til late evening. None of the flights really looked great, so sometimes it’s best to get going and hopefully one of the flights will have a seat!

When I got to the airport I got a text from my friend suggesting I change plans completely and try to get to Boise via LA. Both flights had open seats. It was a mad dash but I made it to the LA flight just as they were boarding and getting a seat was no problem. I had a couple of hours there and then easily got a seat on the flight to Boise. I even had an empty seat next to me on both flights.

This is the view from my window seat as we took off from LA. It’s been a very long time since I’ve been to LA, so it was great to see the beaches - which I used to love to visit when I had trips there.

I made it to Boise at about 10pm - just 20 minutes before my friends arrived in from San Francisco. I was glad I made the decision to fly on that strange routing - knowing that there were seats made it a relaxing journey. But wouldn’t you know it - the evening non-stop flight from Denver, which had been booked full - ended up going out with 19 empty seats! That’s the gambling life of an airline employee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.